UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 to start from 6th of July

UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 to start from 6th of July

The UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 is around the corner, with less than two weeks left for the kick-off. We just witnessed the men’s Euro last year which provided some crazy matches and we witnessed some brilliant European football nations fight for the elite trophy to be crowned the champions of Europe. Italy and England made it to the final and Italy clinched the victory in the end.

Now we have UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 ahead of us. The month of July is full of matches as 31 matches will be played. All the action kick off from 6th of July till the end of the month. As the finite l to be played on the 31st of July to an 87,200 sell-out in the iconic stadium of Wembley.

It will have 16 teams competing for the trophy as Northern Ireland will be pumped up making its debut in the competition. Whereas, the Netherlands will be the defending champions trophy.

First UEFA Women’s Euro in five years

Usually, the Women’s Euros is held every four years as the last Euro had taken place in 2017. When the Netherlands women’s team has crowned champions of Europe, the next one should have taken place in 2021. But due to the coronavirus pandemic, it was postponed and pushed back 12 months and now it is to be played this year in 2022 from the 6th of July in England.

It will be the second time that the full tournament will be played in England. Some spectacular venues are going to witness the action which includes Old Trafford in Manchester, Amex Stadium in Brighton, Leigh Sports Village, Bramall Lane, Sheffield, Stadium MK, Milton Keynes Brent ford Community Stadium, Academy Stadium, Manchester, New York Stadium Rother ham, Wembley Stadium. It is being anticipated that the competition will bring economic activity to the towns and cities where the matches will be played. The assistance of technology like Video Assistant Referee will be used for the very first time in UEFA Women’s Euro.

Groups of the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022                  

European women’s teams are looking forward to the competition and the group stages are already set as teams know who their opponents are in the group stages.

1- Group A: England, Norway, Austria, and Northern Ireland.

2 – Group B: Germany, Spain, Denmark, and Finland.

3 – Group C: Sweden, Switzerland, Portugal, and Netherlands.

4 – Group D: France, Belgium, Iceland and Italy.

Also Read:

Related posts

Leave a Comment