Shikhar Dhawan – the seventh captain set to lead India against mighty Indies

Shikhar Dhawan substitutes Sharma in his absence

Table of Contents

Shahzada TV | News Desk | Shikhar Dhawan will lead team India in the upcoming ODI series against Nicholas Pooran’s WI. The would-be captain was not part of the team for a long time but has drawn the attention of the management not only for permanent placement but also for captaincy.

Shikhar Dhawan is also keen to lead the team India with an in-depth interest against the challenge by the Caribbean. Moreover, he has been also receiving a bundle of facilitation by the senior fellows and analysts since the announcement. They saw it as a positive move by BCCI and wished Dhawan a progressive career ahead.

With charming batting and fielding skills, Dhawan is still prey to various challenges when it comes to captaincy. Since he has never performed this kind of role in his career, he has to prepare a lot to deal with the dual pressure of batting and captainship.

While Shikhar Dhawan becomes captain for this WI series in the absence of regular skipper Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Rishabh Pant were among those who have been rested for the series beginning on July 22 in Port of Spain, Trinidad.

Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammad Shami, two further senior players, have also been given the day off. The team does not include Hardik Pandya, who just made his India comeback following a great IPL season. The 16-person roster for the West Indies tour includes Deepak Hooda, Sanju Samson, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Avesh Khan, who are not included in the ODI squad for the series in England that starts on July 12.

The selectors also chose Shubman Gill, who hadn’t played an ODI since December 2020. For the series, Ravindra Jadeja will serve as Dhawan’s assistant. Dhawan, who only participates in ODIs, led the team for the first time when the Test specialists were in England last year during their tour of Sri Lanka.

While some have criticized the Indian squad for having too many captains over the last year, with Bumrah, Pant, Rahul, Hardik, and Dhawan heading the team owing to schedule conflicts, injuries, and workload management. All three games will be played in Port of Spain.

The ODI Squad:

Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Ravindra Jadeja (vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Prasidh Krishna, Mohd Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.

Also Read:

Related posts

Leave a Comment